Medical Directors

Medical Directors

Brian Skow, MD
Avel Medical Director

Brian Skow, MD Avel Medical Director

Brian Skow, MD, started with eCare Emergency from day one in 2007. At the time there were only eight eCare emergency sites. Today, he oversees emergency virtual care at more than 100 sites across 10 states.

“My goal is to continue the growth of our Avel service lines and maintain the strong relationships we have established in our rural communities,” he says.

As an Avera emergency physician for the past 13 years, Brian brings a wealth of emergency room experience to Avel team. He has also served as an emergency department director and aeromedical physician for Lifeflight.

Watch Dr. Skow’s video >>

Medical Education: University of North Dakota School of Medicine, Grand Forks, N.D.

Emergency Medicine Residency: St. Vincent Mercy Medical Center, Toledo, Ohio

Specialties: Emergency medicine

Additional Certifications: PALS, ATLS, ACLS, FACEP

Professional Memberships

  • American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM)
  • American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)
  • Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM)

Special Interests: Emergency department management, bedside ultrasound, toxicology, critical care procedures

Kelly Rhone, MD, FACEP
Avel Medical Director – Outreach and Innovation

Kelly Rhone, MD, FACEP Avel Medical Director – Outreach and Innovation

Kelly Rhone, MD, FACEP, has been practicing emergency medicine for over 10 years and joined the team as eCare Emergency Medical Director in 2011 with the goal to help bring cutting-edge emergency and critical care to the patient’s bedside while enhancing rural health care.

Kelly started her career as a rural EMT and has always wanted to find a better way to support rural health care. “Working at Avel gives me the opportunity to care for patients in rural settings while still allowing me to work in a Level II Trauma Center. It’s truly the best of both worlds,” she says. “It’s all about providing the right care in the right place at the right time.”

Medical Education: University of South Dakota School of Medicine, Vermillion, S.D.

Emergency Medicine Residency: HealthPartners-Regions Hospital, St. Paul, Minn.

Specialty: Emergency medicine

Teaching or Professional Positions: Assistant Professor at USD Sanford School of Medicine

Professional Memberships: American College of Emergency Physicians

Honors: Fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians

Emily Kathleen Hurst, DO, FACOI
Avel ICU Medical Director

Emily Kathleen Hurst, DO, FACOI Avel ICU Medical Director
Emily Hurst, DO, FACOI, began practicing in 2008 and since then has served as a hospitalist, intensivist, internal medicine program director and medical director. Providing care in both small communities and large academic centers gave her a wide variety of experience prior to joining the team in 2014.

Emily views teamwork as a key to achieving her goal of helping to expand and grow the program while improving patient satisfaction and care. “Working together achieves synergism as a whole that is greater than the sum of its parts,” she says.

Medical Education: Des Moines University, Des Moines, Iowa

Residency: McClaren Oakland Hospital, Pontiac, Mich.

Fellowship: Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, Mich.

Specialty: Internal medicine

Subspecialties: Critical care, hospice and palliative care

Board Certifications: Internal medicine, hospice and palliative medicine and critical care

Special Interests: Geriatric care, underserved communities and end-of-life care

Teaching or Professional Positions

  • Detroit Wayne County Health Authority Internal Medicine Program Director
  • Michigan State University Regional Clinical Coordinator and Associate Professor

Professional Memberships

  • Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM)
  • Michigan Osteopathic Political Action Committee (MOPAC)
  • American College of Osteopathic Internists (ACOI)
  • Oakland County Osteopathic Medical Association
  • Michigan Osteopathic Association (MOA)
  • American Osteopathic Association
  • Osteopathic Political Action Committee (OPAC)

Honors and Awards

  • IMPACT Uplift Program Designation
  • MOA 49’s Society Inductee
  • MSU Class of 2013 Excellence in Teaching Award
  • American College of Osteopathic Internists Fellow